Shhh the SMWS codes for each distillery revealed

Well, this is rather unorthodox but I get asked quite a bit at GreatDrams whisky tastings to explain the SMWS codes for distilleries, especially if I’ve been guiding those in the room through any SMWS bottlings.

Now, these are supposed to be secret but in case you guys were ever wondering I thought it a good idea to just list the SMWS codes out for you. But please do treat SMWS in the spirit it was intended by exploring their incredible range without ‘knowing’ the distillery behind the dram until you have to. Explore by flavour, not by brand. You’ll thank me, and definitely them, for it.

Here they are… the SMWS Codes

Distilleries SMWS Codes
Glenfarclas Distillery 1
Glenlivet Distillery 2
Bowmore Distillery 3
Highland Park Distillery 4
Auchentoshan Distillery 5
Glen Deveron (Macduff Distillery) 6
Longmorn Distillery 7
Tamdhu Distillery 8
Glen Grant Distillery 9
Bunnahabhain Distillery 10
Tomatin Distillery 11
Benriach Distillery 12
Dalmore Distillery 13
Talisker Distillery 14
Glenfiddich Distillery 15
Glenturret Distillery 16
Scapa Distillery 17
Inchgower Distillery 18
Glen Garioch Distillery 19
Inverleven Distillery 20
Glenglassaugh Distillery 21
Glenkinchie Distillery 22
Bruichladdich Distillery 23
Macallan Distillery 24
Rosebank Distillery 25
Clynelish Distillery 26
Springbank Distillery 27
Tullibardine Distillery 28
Laphroaig Distillery 29
Glenrothes Distillery 30
Isle of Jura Distillery 31
Edradour Distillery 32
Ardbeg Distillery 33
Tamnavulin Distillery 34
Glen Moray Distillery 35
Benrinnes Distillery 36
Cragganmore Distillery 37
Caperdonich Distillery 38
Linkwood Distillery 39
Balvenie Distillery 40
Dailuaine Distillery 41
Ledaig (Tobermory Distillery) 42
Port Ellen Distillery 43
Craigellachie Distillery 44
Dallas Dhu Distillery 45
Glenlossie Distillery 46
Benromach Distillery 47
Balmenach Distillery 48
St. Magdalene Distillery 49
Bladnoch Distillery 50
Bushmills Distillery 51
Old Pulteney Distillery 52
Caol Ila Distillery 53
Aberlour Distillery 54
Royal Brackla Distillery 55
Coleburn Distillery 56
Glen Mhor Distillery 57
Strathisla Distillery 58
Teaninich Distillery 59
Aberfeldy Distillery 60
Brora Distillery 61
Glenlochy Distillery 62
Glentauchers Distillery 63
Mannochmore Distillery 64
Imperial Distillery 65
Ardmore Distillery 66
Banff Distillery 67
Blair Athol Distillery 68
Glen Albyn Distillery 69
Balblair Distillery 70
Glenburgie Distillery 71
Miltonduff Distillery 72
Aultmore Distillery 73
North Port Distillery 74
Glenury-Royal Distillery 75
Mortlach Distillery 76
Glen Ord Distillery 77
Ben Nevis Distillery 78
Deanston Distillery 79
Glen Spey Distillery 80
Glen Keith Distillery 81
Glencadam Distillery 82
Convalmore Distillery 83
Glendullan Distillery 84
Glen Elgin Distillery 85
Glenesk Distillery 86
Millburn Distillery 87
Speyburn Distillery 88
Tomintoul Distillery 89
Pittyvaich Distillery 90
Dufftown Distillery 91
Lochside Distillery 92
Glen Scotia Distillery 93
Old Fettercairn Distillery 94
Auchroisk (Singleton) Distillery 95
Glendronach Distillery 96
Littlemill Distillery 97
Lomond (Inverleven Distillery) 98
Glenugie Distillery 99
Strathmill Distillery 100
Knockando Distillery 101
Dalwhinnie Distillery 102
Royal Lochnagar Distillery 103
Glencraig (Glenburgie Distillery) 104
Tormore Distillery 105
Cardhu Distillery 106
Glenallachie Distillery 107
Allt-a-Bhainne Distillery 108
Mosstowie (Miltonduff Distillery) 109
Oban Distillery 110
Lagavulin Distillery 111
Loch Lomond Distillery (Inchmurrin) 112
Braes of Glenlivet (Braeval Distillery) 113
Longrow (Springbank Distillery) 114
An Cnoc (Knockdhu Distillery) 115
Yoichi Distillery 116
Cooley Distillery (unpeated) 117
Cooley Distillery (peated) 118
Yamazaki Distillery 119
Hakushu Distillery 120
Isle of Arran Distillery 121
Croftengea (Loch Lomond Distillery) 122
Glengoyne Distillery 123
Miyagikyo Distillery 124
Glenmorangie Distillery 125
Hazelburn (Springbank Distillery) 126
Port Charlotte (Bruichladdich Distillery) 127
Penderyn Distillery 128
Kilchoman Distillery 129
Chichibu Distillery 130
Hanyu Distillery 131
Karuizawa Distillery 132
North British Distillery G1
Carsebridge Distillery G2
Caledonian Distillery G3
Cameronbridge Distillery G4
Invergordon Distillery G5
Port Dundas Distillery G6
Girvan Distillery G7
Cambus Distillery G8
Loch Lomond Distillery G9
Strathclyde Distillery G10
Miyagikyo (Nikka) Distillery Coffey Grain G11
Miyagikyo (Nikka) Distillery Coffey Malt G12
Chita Distillery G13
Dumbarton Distillery G14
Heaven Hill Distillery B1
Bernheim Distillery B2
Rock Town Distillery B3

Any additions / edits? Let me know if there are changes to be made to the SMWS codes you see here. 

Tags: Distillery StoriesSMWS


My name is Greg, and I’m a brand strategy consultant, writer, speaker, host and judge specialising in premium spirits. My mission is to experience, share and inspire with everything great about whisky, whiskey, gin, beer and fine dining through my writing, my brand building and my whisky tastings.

You might be interested in

More from the blog

2 thoughts on “Shhh the SMWS codes for each distillery revealed”

  1. Hi Greg,
    Nikka imported their Coffey Stills in 1963 from Scotland and in 1998 transferred them from Nishinomiya (Part of the Asahi Brewing complex of which Nikka is a subsidiary) to Miyagikyo Distillery near Sendai – so far everything bottled is from Miyagikyo (G11.1 1999 and G12.1 2003). If SMWS bottle anything older than 1999 vintage (unlikely) then by their own system these would require new G#’s perhaps?
    Anyways I have G11 and G12 quoted as Miyagikyo Distillery.

Leave a comment

Login / register