Shortlist announced for Outstanding Achievement Award in the Scotch Whisky Industry

let’s begin

Last week saw the announcement of the International Wine & Spirit Competition’s (IWSC) shortlist for ‘Outstanding Achievement Award in the Scotch Whisky Industry’.

The Outstanding Achievement Award in the Scotch Whisky Industry, sponsored by Chivas Brothers Ltd, was created to honour individuals who have made important international contributions to the Scotch whisky industry. The shortlist of candidates have been chosen, because they demonstrate evidence of influencing and protecting the development of the industry and effectively promoting its image.

Last year the award was won by Steve Sturgeon, who is marketing director at Distell Group. Past winners have included Charles Maclean, Glen Barclay and Dr Bill Lumsden.

This year’s shortlist of nominees:

Rachel Barrie

Rachel is a Master Blender at Morrison Bowmore Distillers and one of only a few female Master Blenders in the world, creating some of the world’s finest single malt Scotch whiskies. She started her career in whisky straight after studying chemistry at Edinburgh University. During her 23 year in the industry she has sampled in excess of 130,000 casks from more than 80 malt distilleries.

Ken Robertson

Ken was the Corporate Relations Director at Diageo Whisky, working there for over 25 years creating conditions for the long-term growth and success of the Scotch whisky category. He represented Diageo on industry bodies that include Council of the Scotch Whisky Association, the Board of the Scotch Whisky Experience and the management committee of The Keepers of the Quaich. He is now retired from Diageo and directing Ken Robertson Associates.

Douglas Cruickshank

Before announcing his retirement in October 2013 Douglas was the Production Director at Chivas Brothers with over 40 years’ experience in the Scotch industry. He played a key role in the growth of Chivas Brands including Chivas Regal. He started his career as a labourer with Distilleries Company Limited at the age of 15.

Dr Charles Soong

Charles is the MD of Edrington China and has had over 20 years’ experience in the industry, starting as the on-trade marketing manager for Remy Martin. In 2005, he was nominated by TEG to become the Keeper of the Quaich as a lifetime member of that organisation.

Dr Nicholas Morgan

Nicholas is Head of Whisky Outreach at Diageo, where he has become renowned for his expertise on the history of the Scotch whisky distilling industry. He has over twenty years’ experience and has been responsible for a number of key innovations for malt whisky including the development of the Talisker range.

Gavin Hewitt CMG, OBE

Gavin was Chief Executive of the Scotch Whisky Association for over 10 years, he retired in December 2013. The body promotes, protects and represents the interests of the industry in Scotland and around the world. In November 2011 he was elected as president of the European Spirits Organisation.

Gavin Hewitt CMG, OBE

Tim joined the industry in 1966 after his degree and PhD in chemistry from Edinburgh University. Working as both Chairman and Secretary for The Institute of Brewing & Distilling, he has provided an exceptional contribution to brewing, malting and distilling science over the last 40 years.[/toggler]

The winner will be announced at the IWSC awards banquet, to be held at London’s Guildhall on 12th November 2014.

Tags: IWSCNewsOutstanding Achievement Award in the Scotch Whisky Industry


My name is Greg, and I’m a brand strategy consultant, writer, speaker, host and judge specialising in premium spirits. My mission is to experience, share and inspire with everything great about whisky, whiskey, gin, beer and fine dining through my writing, my brand building and my whisky tastings.

You might be interested in

More from the blog

Leave a comment

Login / register